No Sentences But In Objects

by Wells

The alarm

The weather

The toilet

Some coffee

Contact Lenses

Wallet, work card, keys, change, phone, Chapstick:  my pockets

My sweater

The hill

The bus

$1.25

The projects

The boneyard

30-year deadline

Every morning

The overpass

The swamp

A bagel and  The Economist

The  timeclock

My cube

My PC

My inbox

Followup work

Chit chat

The phone

The same customers

Break time

Allison via email

A feeling of warm peace like

A cup of tea at home

Lunch

Allison

Break time

Allison until 3 o’clock

The home stretch

The timeclock

The long hike home

The guitar or

The pen and paper or

The real work that I do

A call from Allison

A warm feeling of peace like

A cup of tea at home

Dinner

A shower

Fark.com

The news

Allison via instant message

A warm feeling of peace like

A cup of tea at home

Bedtime

A dream about some odd thing

The alarm

Allison is the girl I just this weekend got engaged to.  This poem appears in my book Try the Veal.

