(12+3)*4

by Wells

I am a procrastinator, and I get the feeling most of the people I know are the same way.  In this day and age it’s easy to assume that this is brought on by some chemical imbalance in my brain.  It’s become hip to self-diagnose as “ADD” or “just a little autistic” or “actually so smart it makes me seem kind of slow”.

Whatever.  I know that here, in real life, procrastination can be overcome with a little discipline and a lot of caffeine.  For the discipline, I turn to (10+2)*5.

I set aside an hour, give myself a list of at least an hour’s worth of work that needs to get done, and plow through it.  I’ve actually tweaked the formula to (12+3)*4 because I like longer breaks.

  • Work for 12 minutes, no excuses.
  • Break for three minutes, no excuses.
  • Repeat 4 times.

And there you go: you’ve completed an hour’s worth of stuff.  Now get out your stopwatch and a task list, and get back to work.

