I Could Never Do That

by Wells

People find out that I’m writing a book and that’s what they say: “I could never do that.” They say this and they mean, what? “I could never work on a single thing for 200 hours or so?” I’m not buying it. Everyone who says this to me has something they’ve committed several hundred hours to. Work, school, improv, acting, poker, exercise, television fandom; these things are all hour-hungry activities and they all, to whatever extent, return on the investment that you put in. Your level of ability in poker is your book. Your flat abs are your book. Your paycheck is your book. You do it every day. If you don’t have anything in your life that you’ve chosen to dedicate hours and hours to, then go find it.

Product is the excrement of action. I have a book because I fill my hours with writing.

